Generation gap: Jake Sheffer on Guitar

operation!I was poking around YouTube and I found a video interview with a really great local DC guitar teacher, Jake Sheffer. Jake’s a seasoned player whom I had the privilege of taking classical and jazz guitar lessons from for a couple of years. I keep meaning to hit the dude up again these days, and see if he has time to show me some more tricks for a few bucks (maybe he’d be interested to hear that I’m now a guitar teacher myself!)! Unfortunately I’ve been in and out of financial straits and different time-consuming music projects since I last saw him a couple of years ago. Hence I keep putting it on the back-burner. But life is short, so I’m gonna do it soon.

Anyway, Jake showed me music by a lot of different cool musicians in the time I practiced with him, and he is a pretty mean and seasoned guitar player in his own right. Besides this, he is a ridiculously friendly, nice guy. I know people casually describe each other that way these days; rest assured that with Jake, it’s a legit personal description. He is a truly cool dude, through and through — doesn’t have a single touch of egotism, cynicism or pretense, but has also been around the block and loves the instrument and is always finding new stuff to play and share. If you’re looking for a sick jazz or classical guitarist to study with, you might go see if you can’t register for some private lessons over at Montgomery College in Maryland, where he’s been the primary guitar chair-in-residence for a while. At the very least you might be able to get a good recommendation on where to study in your area.

In the coming posts I’ll probably link to a bunch of mean guitar players that Jake inspired me to take influence from. But today, see for yourself what he’s about:!

~ by chaosrexmachinae on October 6, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
