You have really beautiful Ys…

Sorry I haven’t posted anything in a week or so. I have a few posts in the works, but you know how it goes with life. Ain’t no time for nothin’!

Once again, I have been listening to a ton of music from the Brandish and Ys game series. Specifically the soundtracks to Brandish II and Ys IV and V. Both series are Nihon Falcom franchises and feature typically gorgeous, professional scores. The particular releases I mentioned are SNES/Super Famicom games and I don’t think they were released in North America.

If you’ve never heard any Ys music, you’re really missing out. It has my favorite video game music of all time. Not to mention the newest Ys games that they’ve been releasing on PC platforms look absolutely magnificent. I’m not sure if they come out stateside, but if they do I should pick them up. The last couple of games, Ys Origin and Ys: The Oath in Felghana, are remakes of earlier games in the series.

Here are some trailers for those two games. Check out that guitar playing on Oath in Felghana

Ys: The Oath in Felghana

Ys Origin

I’ll post some follow-ups about Brandish and Ys pretty soon. In the meantime, see if you can locate that 8-CD box set.

~ by chaosrexmachinae on May 1, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
