Jonathonian and some classic SFII

First, I want to plug my pal, Jonathonian. He’s got a blog where he shares various gems from his music career. I am really digging two of his latest posted songs, Little Bag and Me Alive. Catchy folk and pop music. Check ’em.

***

Second, I wanted to pay tribute to some SFII music. Whatever opinions people may have about the Street Fighter series, most can agree it has some of the best music of any arcade fighting franchise. I think we sometimes forget how delightfully catchy and simple the music in the series is. Ryu, Ken and Guile’s music are all classic staples of video game music now, which are continually (sub)culturally sampled and referenced. I wouldn’t be surprised if some of this music has made its way into DJ dance floor sets.

Blanka has the mass of a Transformer in this picture.What’s the first thing you see in this picture?

Games like Killer Instinct, Eternal Champions, Mortal Kombat and Fatal Fury – while all good in their own right, did not have the same caliber of catchy tunes. I don’t know if the Street Fighter games necessarily were the most quality of the 2-D fighters, and Capcom certainly is notorious for pumping out identical “sequels” (see the sequels to Mega Man, Street Fighter, Final Fight, Resident Evil, Onimusha, Devil May Cry, Breath of Fire; ad infinitum!), but musically it is the most significant of its generation. I haven’t heard notable music in a fighting game since then. Soul Caliber is somewhat memorable because of the cheesy plastic atmosphere it creates, but the music isn’t very good. And Street Fighter 3, while a great game, does not have memorable music. Some of it is creative (bar the horrendous 5-second character select theme!) but after playing the game countless hours with my friends, I still can’t recall any of it.

It was their last time they would be intimate…

I know everyone’s heard and played the series a million times already, but just so you never forget, here are some classic tunes from the 1994 Super Nintendo version of Super Street Fighter II.

Capcom – Balrog – Super Street Fighter II (SNES)
Capcom – Chun Li – Super Street Fighter II (SNES)
Capcom – Dee Jay – Super Street Fighter II (SNES)
Capcom – Guile – Super Street Fighter II (SNES)
Capcom – Ken – Super Street Fighter II (SNES)
Capcom – Ryu – Super Street Fighter II (SNES)
Capcom – Zangief – Super Street Fighter II (SNES)

SSFII has gotta be one of the most racist games ever. Anyone remember Dhalsim’s music? (Note: I didn’t post it because it’s racist and also sucks) Dee Jay’s music is actually up there by request, if you can believe it

I’ve been working on a massive post about all the old Batman games and their music. It’s so huge I think I’ll separate it into different posts. I’m gonna cover all the classic NES, Genesis, Game Boy and SNES Batman releases. Watch for it!

____

*A friend of mine mentioned that in Japan, “Balrog” (name of an elder demon in Tolkein’s folklore) is the last boss’ title, instead of the name of the boxer in the US versions. “M. Bison” (which rhymes with M. Tyson) is actually the name of the boxing character.

~ by chaosrexmachinae on September 24, 2007.

15 Responses to “Jonathonian and some classic SFII”

  1. oh shit – Dee Jay’s music still rocks.

    f u to you haters

  2. So is “Dee Jay” supposed to refer to how reggae music is spun by djs? Or am I concluding too much from the deep character design?

  3. most definitely

  4. Thanks for the shout. It’s an honor to be included in a post with Street Fighter 2 music. I find that games on Dreamcast and some later, more-Japanesey games tried to continue this kind of sound. I’m thinking mainly of Virtua Tennis.

  5. Aw shazzbot, Virtua Tennis is the jam. I don’t know any of its music though.

    Since we share a kindred bond with old Mega Man tunes, I actually had wanted to include something about Mega Man in this one. Alas, the only things I’ve been listening to lately are Mega Man 7 and the X series on SNES. They’re not the same composers, I don’t think.

    Funny thing is, I think the same composers working on the NES Mega Mans were actually working on SFII. The original SFII came out way back in 1992 or so, and the Mega Man games were coming out on NES until almost 1995. I’m not sure so I should look into this.

  6. Virtua Tennis featured, what I like to call, “Distorted guitar as saxaphone” kind of tunes, where it would be smooth jazz if it wasn’t as intense had a sax instead of acoustic guitar. But as you and I both know, a lot of smooth jazz has some sick melodies if you can look beyond the hammie instrumentation and cheesey production (call it ‘ham and cheese if you will). I’m thinking mainly of Guile and Ken themes.

    I like some latter day Mega Man stuff, but don’t like the tones they use as much as those triangle, square and sawtooth days. MegaMan and Bass is a sweet title for GBA, and is a lot like the SNES games, but the music is kind of lacking. It focuses more on having music that fits the stage (carnival music, flight music ect) as opposed to focusing on kicking ass. MegaMan X8 is cool on PS2, but the music is really aweful and the sound effects are too much to handle. Gimmie OLAJIN! WE WANT BUN BUN!

  7. I forgot to mention that the MegaMan anniversary collection has an option where you can replace the original music with more “sythy string” versions of the same songs. THEY SUCK SO VERY HARD! I would rather have to option to replace the original music with covers by the Minibosses, but alas, looping REAL music would prove difficult.

  8. Yeah, unfortunately Mega Man started lacking after the first Mega Man X. I am pretty sure the cause for the lousy synth remixes on that Anniversary collection comes from having different people doing the sound than in the originals.

    There might be some good music on the old Game Boy Mega Mans, as those were made simultaneously with the NES series. The later Mega Man games don’t really have the same charm and are sort of average action games, unfortunately.

    Some really interesting and decent old-school remixes can be found on the Playstation game, “Castlevania Chronicles”. It’s a remake of the original NES Castlevania on PSone. I think it was released in Japan for the Wonderswan or X68000 computer, and then given a limited release in the US as a PSone game. It has the original music as well as remixed club/techno versions and new artwork. Not very many were released, so it’s rather expensive, but it is an example of a next-gen update done right.

  9. Capcom had seriously one of the best sound teams in the history of ever. I would begin my every day with the intro to Mega Man 3 if I could afford to pay for all the holes I’d punch in the wall getting So Pumped.

    Also: dude, it has been a dog’s age. Have you been well?

  10. Z! Nice to see you made it over to my side of the intrawebs! I hope your forays into the deep, dark underground of Indie-rock Journalism are keeping you plenty rich.

    I would grade my current consistent rate of well-being around 85 to 90 percent. Thanks for asking.

    And yessir, Mega Man 3 did indeed have some of the finer intro music known by all of Dog’s creatures. It might be my favorite one in the whole franchise actually. MM didn’t yet have the chargable M-blaster, but he DID have the ability to slide!

    Snake Man’s music…*salivate*…

  11. Truth be told, my indie-music journalism is still indie enough to not actually pay at all. Honestly though, as long as I’d be doing it anyway, I may as well have my yelling edited and published, if not financially compensated.

    We got to bop out pretty hard to Snake Man, but I will recall Shadow Man most fondly indeed. If I ever heard it anywhere else besides my computer, I would drop everything and LOSE MY MIND.

  12. how did u get eternal champions on snes? i never thought they’d do dat

  13. Oh, I didn’t mean to imply it was on the SNES; I was just using it as a comparative example of 2-D fighting game music. It was only on Genesis and Sega CD.

  14. who is this beautiful girl in this pic?

  15. As you might have noticed from the image title, it’s Haruna Anno, a teen idol in Japan. She did some publicity stunt with the Street Fighter II games recently, which indicates that even 10+ years later, the game is a definitive part of console video game culture.

Leave a Reply

 
