Susumu Hirasawa and Recording in the Woods

Okay, so the film ‘Paprika’ came out in select theaters recently, and I never got around to seeing it. I am a little disappointed in myself, since it is a new Satoshi Kon flick and his other stuff is just excellent. But also, recent Kon projects have utilized the music of one Susumu Hirasawa – the brilliance behind Beserk’s OST, among other things. I’ll write more about him later, but for now check out the free track from Paprika he has on his website: http://www.chaosunion.com/hirasawa/e/

I recently was browsing Upland’s blog and came across his old post with some pictures of him recording samples in the forest. I must say I am a bit envious of that setup. Sure beats the hell out of my recording a thunderstorm with a battered SM-58. Eh? Eh? If you don’t know, Upland is a slick electronic/glitch/collage musician on Jester Records, the Norwegian label started by Garm, of Ulver fame.

~ by chaosrexmachinae on July 12, 2007.

Leave a comment